The Shen Family Foundation Musical Theater Composers Initiative
Yale Curriculum Initiative

The Shen Family Foundation has provided the funding for the Yale University undergraduate musical theater curriculum ("Shen Musical Theater Curriculum") since the inception of the program, which was developed in 2005 and initially supervised by Professor Richard Lalli of the Yale Department of Music. The 2015-2016 curriculum offers eight accredited courses, including musical theater composition, musical theater libretto and lyric writing, history of American musical theater, collaboration in musical theater performance, and "Stephen Sondheim & The American Musical Theater Tradition." The libretto writing course is cross-registered with the Yale School of Drama and the Yale Department of Theater Studies. The courses are augmented by a series of lecture/master class seminars given by guest professionals from the musical theater community.

The program director of the Shen Musical Theater Curriculum is Daniel Egan, who also teaches the program's history of American musical theater and Stephen Sondheim courses. Other instructors for 2015-2016 include Jeanine Tesori, Annette Jolles, Michael Korie, Joshua Rosenblum, Andrew Gerle and Marsha Norman. Past instructors in the musical theater program also include: Victoria Clark, Emily Coates, Joel Fram, Ricky Ian Gordon, Jeffrey Klitz, Tina Landau, Vicki Shaghoian, Rachel Scheinkin, Joseph Thalken, Richard Pearson Thomas and Anne Tofflemire. A principal goal of the curriculum, besides developing basic skills, is to encourage its students to challenge both their own creative limits and the boundaries of musical theater convention in their approach to musical composition, lyric and book writing, and direction and performance.

Additional information can be found through the following links: